Remembering YOU!

As a woman I am in constant work of taking care of everyone but me. I’m writing this mostly to the women but for the men or partners that love them ….. to help them to remember themselves.

I am a mother, sister, “wifey”, friend, cousin, aunt, co-worker, nurse, doctor, mediator, cook, transportation (cabby),  administrator, boss, CEO …. you get the picture. I sometimes get caught up in everyone’s life and mine is put on the back burner.

Over the years personally I have neglected a lot of things that are/were important to me to please, satisfy, and sacrificed for others in the family. One of the problems is that what I see as a sacrifice others see as my duty or choice and it’s not as appreciated as I may have either wanted it to be or as I feel it was.

My point is that what we see in our lives as something that we gave up or put off for the good of others…. is not necessarily how others see it. In the end you can have a lot of bad feelings toward the very people you put in all the work for.

I have at the tender age of 41 discovered that I should have put in a lot more time with myself … that there were things I could have done and everyone would have still been alright. I have learned that it is ok to be “selfish” cause taking care of yourself is not really selfish. I took that word to mean something else.. and waisted a lot of time.

I am the mother of an infant now after raising 4 sons on my own baby being 20. I enjoy every second of my daughter and love myself in a way I never thought I could. I struggle with the “selfish” feelings that I get like when I get my hair done … because I think of all the other things I could be spending the money on. My first step to ‘recovery’ is to get it done anyway…  I always feel beautiful afterwords it’s a nice break and worth it.

Getting myself financially straight and secure is the other struggle and making sure I keep a healthy relationship with my friends is the other…. Friends… that will be another blog… and love… yeah… well Security is my priority now for me and my daughter. Love use to drive everything. It was at the top of the list…. I have different views about that now I’m sure love, fidelity, and honesty exist but I’m learning it’s not the driving force…another blog.

As for this blog Don’t forget you… you only have one life. Figure

Become your own sun

out what you love… become your own sun and let the world revolve around you … It’s your turn to shine

  

 

About jettybird

"I Choose to be Happy!" Mother, Lover, Friend, Fellow Human Being I've learned that Happiness is something that comes and goes. It's something that changes with Mood and Time and Circumstance. Making a choice to feel happy is not always easy or even something that can be achieved in some situations. I want to be at peace I want happiness.. I have also figured out if relationships (in particular with your spouse, partner, friend, fiancee, husband, lover or whateve you call them is not in a "peaceful place", it can affect yur whole world, well- being, mood and mental state. Obviously the emotional state is usually the first thing that you feel, then everything else comes down, when things are bad. When things are good, all those things feel good. I've learned to smile, cope and act happy when that is the furthest from how I really felt and these letters poems and thoughts will be what I've and other women have wanted to say and express but have not found the right forum for it. This is another way to look at it,,, something for men to read and listen to, explore, and for women to relate or feel or just see.... How ever you choose to use it it is up to you. Express
This entry was posted in family, forgiveness, god, health, life, lifestyle, opinion, religion, self esteem, sex, Uncategorized, valentines day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

